Home >> Local Reporter >> Pune Navratri Guide: Which Temples to Visit & What Colours to Wear on Specific Days

Pune Navratri Guide: Which Temples to Visit & What Colours to Wear on Specific Days

The Purpose of Navratri: The Hindu festival of Navratri, which translates as “nine nights” in Sanskrit, praises Goddess Durga in all of her incarnations. It depicts the triumph of good over evil and offers a chance for meditation, prayer, and spiritual edification. Along with its religious importance, Navratri in Pune also uses the Garba and Dandiya dances to encourage joy and friendship.


There are a few goddess Durga temples. Each of these temples has a unique feel and importance, making them significant sites for pilgrimages during the auspicious festival of Navratri. Visitors to these temples come to show their devotion, seek offers, and feel the holy presence of Goddess Durga in all of her forms. Here is our Navratri Guide for Pune with a list of temples you can visit in the city.

1. Vaishno Devi Temple, Pimpri

Goddess Vaishno Devi, a manifestation of Goddess Mahalakshmi, is worshipped at the Vaishno Devi Temple in Pimpri. Visitors to this temple during Navratri, according to devotees, are blessed with prosperity and desire fulfilment. The temple is a location of heavenly power and inner peace.

2. Aai Mata Mandir, Kondhwa

Hinduism’s most venerated mother goddess, Aai Mata, is honoured at the Aai Mata Mandir in Kondhwa. Special prayers and cultural celebrations are held during Navratri to honour the almighty feminine spirit. Devotees ask for blessings for the wealth and well-being of their families.

3. Bhawani Mata Temple, Bhawani Peth

Goddess Bhawani, a manifestation of Goddess Durga, is worshipped in the Bhawani Mata Temple in Bhawani Peth. During Navratri, it is a prominent pilgrimage place that draws worshippers looking for bravery, safety, and strength. The strength and beauty of Goddess Bhawani reverberate throughout the temple.

4. Chatushrungi Mata Temple, Senapati Bapat Road

One of the most visited temples in Pune is Chatushrungi Mata Temple, which is located on Senapati Bapat Road. This temple, which is dedicated to Goddess Chatushrungi Mata, a manifestation of Goddess Durga, is extremely significant during Navratri. People from all over the world come here to pray for wisdom, knowledge, and wealth.

5. Shitala Mata Mandir, Ravivar Peth


Goddess Shitala, a deity seen as being conducive to health and well-being, is honoured at the Shitala Mata Mandir at Ravivar Peth. Devotees worship the goddess for healing and to get over ailments during Navratri. The temple has a serene atmosphere and provides a haven for those who are spiritual.

On the other hand, Each day of Navratri is connected with a particular color, which stands for many facets of life and spirituality. Here is the significance of the Navratri colors on each day:


Day 1 of Navratri

The colour Orange denotes vitality and passion. Its colour is that of the sunrise, signifying a fresh start and the reawakening of spirituality inside. On the first day, devotees don oranges to inspire zeal and positivity and set the tone for the holiday season.


Day 2 of Navratri

White is a colour that stands for peace and purity. It represents a placid and tranquil mind, which is necessary for meditation and prayer. On the second day of Navratri, wearing white cleanses the soul and fosters harmony and peace, strengthening one's spiritual connection to the divine.


Day 3 of Navratri

Power and passion are represented by the colour Red. It represents the fortitude and tenacity needed to face challenges. Wearing red on the third day represents dedication and bravery, encouraging believers to tackle difficulties with confidence and vigour while asking Goddess Durga's blessings for strength.


Day 4 of Navratri

The colour Royal Blue is a symbol of spirituality and divinity. It stands for boundless knowledge and wisdom and represents the size of the sky and the depth of the ocean. On the fourth day, wearing royal blue inspires a sense of heavenly knowledge and insight, inspiring followers to seek for spiritual enlightenment and inner clarity.


Day 5 of Navratri

Yellow stands for joy and optimism. It symbolises the colour of the sun, which is a source of warmth and vigour. On the fifth day of Navratri, wearing yellow promotes happiness and cheer, serves as a reminder to devotees of the value of optimism, and creates a pleasant atmosphere.


Day 6 of Navratri

Green is a colour associated with fertility and nature. It stands for development, harmony, and balance. On the sixth day of Navratri, wearing green represents harmony with nature and the environment. It urges followers to value nature's bounty and foster a feeling of harmony and calm in their lives.


Day 7 of Navratri

Grey is a colour that is frequently linked to balance, subtlety, and neutrality. As devotees continue their spiritual journey during Navratri, it may, in certain interpretations, signify a more somber and contemplative component of the seventh day.


Day 8 of Navratri

Purple is a symbol of wealth and authority. It denotes spirituality and regal status. On the eighth day of Navratri, purple clothing represents commitment and change. In order to get the blessings of Goddess Durga for spiritual progress, knowledge, & the strength to face problems, devotees wear this colour.


Day 9 of Navratri

The colour Peacock Green represents grace and beauty. It stands for the vivacious hues of creativity and nature. On the seventh day, wearing peacock green encourages creative expression and creativity, inspiring followers to enjoy everything that is beautiful in life and to celebrate their gifts.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Check Also


Take a look at the Top 5 Digital Marketing Training Institutes in Pune if you’re Planning a Career into Marketing

Now is the best time to learn and master the skills. Learn from the top Digital Marketing Institutes in Pune and secure the best placements!